Exercise is Medicine® (EIM) is a global initiative lead by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM). EIM Australia is managed by Exercise & Sports Science Australia (ESSA).

EIM Australia is focused on encouraging health care providers, with a specific focus on doctors, nurses and aboriginal health workers, to review and assess every patient’s physical activity levels at every visit. Patients should be counselled on exercise regimens, and provided with an exercise prescription or referral to an accredited exercise physiologist, accredited exercise scientist or appropriately qualified allied health professional.


Our Vision


To make physical activity and exercise a standard component of chronic disease prevention and management.


Exercise is Medicine® Australia three guiding principles


The three guiding principles of Exercise is Medicine® Australia, are designed to improve the health and well-being of all Australians through regular physical activity prescription from primary healthcare providers with a specific focus on doctors, nurses and aboriginal health workers. The guiding principles are as follows:


1. Physical activity and exercise are important to health and the prevention and treatment of many chronic diseases;

2. More should be done to address physical activity and exercise in primary healthcare settings; and

3. Support the referral of patients to appropriately trained allied health professionals to deliver exercise services for the prevention and treatment of chronic disease.


Our strategic plan


Click here to view the EIM Strategic Plan 2017- 2019


National Advisory Council Members


Exercise & Sports Science Australia (ESSA)
Sophia Parker (EIM Australia Project Officer)
Anita Hobson-Powell (CEO Exercise & Sports Science Australia)

University of Queensland (UQ)
Jeff Coombes (EIM Australia National Director)

Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association (APNA)
Nicole McClure

Australasian College of Sport and Exercise Physicians (ACSEP)
Kate Simkovic

Hamish Osborne

Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA)
Anja Nikolic

Edith Cowan University (ECU)
Robert Newton

Sports Medicine Australia (SMA)
Anthony Merrilees

Tintenbar Medical Centre
Lynne Davies

University of the Sunshine Coast (USC)
Chris Askew

The Department of Health 
Elizabeth Flynn